SECURE THE BEST DEALS
TO THE OFFERS
SECURE THE BEST DEALS
TO THE OFFERS
LOGIN
Solutions
LOGIN
We have updated our pricing. Nothing has changed for private customers. Brand new: fileee Business
WATCH NOW

GoBD

The principles for the proper keeping and storage of books, records and documents in electronic form and for data access explained.

Definition of the GoBD

The abbreviation GoBD stands for: Principles for the proper keeping and storage of books, records and documents in electronic form and for data access. These principles, issued by the German Federal Ministry of Finance (BMF), contain criteria and guidelines that companies must fulfill when using electronic accounting.
GoBD briefly explained:

Requirements and background of the GoBD

As part of the GoBD, audit-proof storage describes the storage of digital data in terms of correctness, completeness, security, availability, traceability, immutability and access protection. These are to be understood as central requirements for audit security and are recorded in chapter three under "General requirements" of the GoBD guidelines:
Since the demands on companies and IT-supported systems are becoming greater with increasing digitalization, the GoBD have also been adapted. In the latest version dated November 28, 2019, for example, topics such as mobile scanning or cloud systems are also included. A mobile scan is another import path into the system when capturing receipts.

However, the GoBD itself is not a legal text, but formally describes the criteria on the basis of which a tax audit takes place. What are the requirements and background of the GoBD? We explain briefly:

1. what are the GoBD?

Even if the letter from the BMF reads like a legal text, these principles formally "merely" set out criteria according to which it can be determined in a tax audit whether a company has complied with the proper keeping of books or records. Thus, compliance with the GoBD is in the hands of the taxpayer and the verification of this is in the hands of the tax office.

The GoBD describe the following points:
Important: In this context, the retention periods specified in Section 147 (3) of the German Fiscal Code (AO) of 6 or 10 years must always be observed (to be found under Chapter 3, Item 27 of the GoBD Guidelines).

These four rules must be observed in digital archiving in order to be considered GoBD-compliant: Inalterability, completeness, traceability and availability.

2 To whom do the GoBD apply?

All taxable entrepreneurs who generate profit income in any form are equally obliged to comply with the GoBD.

Based on the German Fiscal Code (Section 90 (3), items 141 to 144, AO ) and the individual tax laws (Section 22 UStG, Section 4 (3) sentence 5, Section 4 (4a) sentence 6, Section 4 (7) and Section 41 EStG), the GoBD obligate not only companies that are required to keep accounts but also self-employed persons, freelancers and small entrepreneurs who are not required to keep accounts to retain all tax-relevant data in accordance with the specified requirements.

Anyone who can ensure that the requirements anchored in the GoBD are met over the entire period of the retention periods is acting in compliance with the GoBD.

3. violations of the GoBD and consequences of non-compliance

In the event of non-compliance with the principles or violations of the GoBD, there are various consequences depending on the extent. If deficiencies in compliance with the GoBD are discovered during a tax audit and in particular in such a way that further deficiencies result from this, such as amounts being falsified or concealed as a result, this may have consequences under criminal tax law. As described above, the tax office proceeds according to the criteria of the GoBD during an audit and, depending on the extent, can, for example, demand tax arrears or interest on arrears, make estimates or even impose fines.

4. which documents are affected by the GoBD?

The GoBD concern all tax-relevant data. According to § 147 para. 1 AO, these are as follows:
  • Books
  • Records
  • Inventories
  • Financial statements
  • Business and commercial letters

Important areas here are: Financial accounting, payroll accounting, cost accounting, bank accounts, asset accounting.

In addition, other documents are subject to retention and are therefore affected by the GoBD if they are relevant to the business. This also includes e-mails. E-mails must be archived and are subject to retention if the text of the e-mail contains relevant information for an invoice, for example. The e-mail does not have to be stored additionally if it only serves as a transmission medium and does not contain any relevant information.

5. GoBD-compliant accounting with the help of a DMS

The GoBD do not prescribe which system is to be used. Electronic archiving is primarily technology-neutral. However, it is advisable to use a DMS that is designed in accordance with the GoBD guidelines. For example, the GoBD stipulate: "The storage of data and electronic documents in a file system does not regularly fulfill the requirements of immutability, unless additional measures are taken to ensure immutability" (GoBD chapter 8, point 110).

In addition to the criterion of immutability (GoBD chapter 3.2.5), the other criteria of audit-proof archiving must be present: Traceability and verifiability (GoBD chapter 3.1), completeness (GoBD chapter 3.2.1), accuracy (GoBD chapter 3.2.2), timely posting and records (GoBD chapter 3.2.3) and order (GoBD chapter 3.2.4). Here, audit-proof archiving acts as a prerequisite for GoBD-compliant archiving.

In this context, a DMS does not ensure audit compliance or compliance with the GoBD on its own, but can only be seen as an aid to implementation. In addition, the performance of the various systems differs.

Tip: A comprehensive list of the requirements for a DMS in relation to GoBD compliance can be found at Bitkom in the "GoBD Checklist for Document Management Systems".

What else do I need to consider when complying with the GoBD?

In addition to the requirements for the DMS, the GoBD also regulates the requirements for the taxpayers, i.e. the internal recording and processing procedures as well as the behavior of the users.

The company itself is responsible for complying with the GoBD. This includes the following:
  • First, a digital system must be selected that meets the criteria of the GoBD with regard to digital filing.
  • Receipts must be captured in a timely manner (for example, via scan or import) and uploaded to the system. This can be done manually or automatically. It is important that the chronological sequence can be traced here as well. For a timely capture, one speaks of 8 to 10 days.
  • Likewise, procedural documentation must be created. This documentation must contain information on the data processing procedure: "The procedural documentation usually consists of a general description, user documentation, technical system documentation and operational documentation" (GoBD Chapter 10.1, item 153).
  • In addition, responsibilities must be clarified within the team: Who approves the data? Who checks the data?

The system itself is responsible for the availability and visibility of the necessary data, including history, as well as for audit-proof archiving and automatic creation of electronic files in terms of proper structure and coherence.
GoBD-compliant filing with the help of a DMS

fileee BUSINESS meets the requirements of the GoBD and supports your company in the audit-proof archiving of your electronic documents.
Any questions?

GoBD - Frequently asked questions

What does GoBD mean?
The GoBD are the "Principles for the proper keeping and storage of books, records and documents in electronic form as well as for data access" and were rewritten and defined by the Federal Ministry of Finance on November 28, 2019. These principles regulate the requirements to be met by digitally mapped processes from the perspective of the tax authorities.
What is revision security?
"Revision" means "alteration", "correction" or also "revision" and is understood in connection with "security", i.e. protection against it, in such a way that something is protected from change in this sense. In the context of documents, this term is used both in the technical and organizational area in the context of the electronic storage of data. The GoBD regulates the requirements for audit-proof storage.
What is the difference between GoBD and audit security?
The GoBD is the set of rules with the requirements for audit-proof storage and how audit security is given. Audit security is therefore a part of the GoBD and whoever acts in conformity with the GoBD, acts audit secure at the same time. In addition, the GoBD regulates, for example, the "data security" under the point 103 in chapter 7: "The taxpayer has to protect his DP system (...) against unauthorized inputs and changes (e.g. by access and access controls)". (from: https://www.bundesfinanzministerium.de/Content/DE/Downloads/BMF_Schreiben/Weitere_Steuerthemen/Abgabenordnung/2019-11-28-GoBD.pdf?__blob=publicationFile&v=13)
What does GoBD compliance mean?
The implementation of the GoBD. Anyone who can ensure that the requirements anchored in the GoBD are met acts in compliance with the GoBD.
When is a DMS GoBD-compliant?
A DMS is GoBD-compliant if audit-proof storage is ensured and the GoBD requirements are met. The GoBD checklist from Bitkom breaks these down again directly for document management systems and explains the various points in connection with implementation.

All-around secure and GoBD-compliant with fileee Business

Start now with fileee Business
DSGVO Compliant
Developed and hosted in Germany
Secure SSL encrypted
© 2024 fileee. All Rights Reserved.
DSGVO Compliant
Developed and hosted in Germany
© 2024 fileee. All Rights Reserved.

SICHERE DIR DIE BESTEN DEALS
ZU DEN ANGEBOTEN
SICHERE DIR DIE BESTEN DEALS
ZU DEN ANGEBOTEN
LOGIN
Lösungen
LOGIN
Wir haben unser Pricing aktualisiert. Für Privatkunden ändert sich nichts. Jetzt neu: fileee Business
GLEICH ANSEHEN  ➞

GoBD

Die Grundsätze zur ordnungsmäßigen Führung und Aufbewahrung von Büchern, Aufzeichnungen und Unterlagen in elektronischer Form sowie zum Datenzugriff erklärt.

Definition der GoBD

Die Abkürzung GoBD steht für: Grundsätze zur ordnungsmäßigen Führung und Aufbewahrung von Büchern, Aufzeichnungen und Unterlagen in elektronischer Form sowie zum Datenzugriff. Diese, vom Bundesministerium der Finanzen (BMF) erlassenen, Grundsätze beinhalten Kriterien und Richtlinien, die Unternehmen beim Einsatz einer elektronischen Buchhaltung erfüllen müssen.

GoBD kurz erklärt:

Anforderungen und Hintergründe der GoBD

Die revisionssichere Ablage beschreibt als Teil der GoBD die Aufbewahrung von digitalen Daten in Bezug auf Ordnungsmäßigkeit, Vollständigkeit, Sicherheit, Verfügbarkeit, Nachvollziehbarkeit, Unveränderlichkeit und Zugriffsschutz. Diese sind als zentrale Anforderungen für Revisionssicherheit zu verstehen und sind in Kapitel drei unter „Allgemeine Anforderungen“ der GoBD-Richtlinen festgehalten:
Da mit zunehmender Digitalisierung die Ansprüche an Unternehmen und IT-gestützte Systeme größer werden, wurden auch die GoBD angepasst. In der neuesten Fassung vom 28. November 2019 werden zum Beispiel auch Themen wie mobiles Scannen oder Cloud-Systeme miteingeschlossen. Ein mobiler Scan ist beim Erfassen von Belegen ein weiterer Importweg in das System.

Die GoBD selbst sind allerdings kein Gesetzestext, sondern beschreibt formal die Kriterien anhand derer eine Betriebsprüfung stattfindet. Wie sehen die Anforderungen und Hintergründe der GoBD aus? Wir erklären kurz:

1. Was sind die GoBD?

Auch, wenn sich das Schreiben des BMF wie ein Gesetzestext liest, sind in diesen Grundsätzen formal „lediglich” Kriterien festgehalten, nach denen in einer Betriebsprüfung festgestellt werden kann, ob ein Unternehmen die ordnungsgemäße Führung von Büchern oder Aufzeichnungen erfüllt hat. Somit liegt die Einhaltung der GoBD in der Hand der Steuerpflichtigen und die Überprüfung dessen beim Finanzamt.

Die GoBD beschreiben dabei folgende Punkte:
Wichtig: In diesem Zusammenhang muss immer die Dauer der Aufbewahrungsfristen, festgelegt in § 147 Abs. 3 der Abgabenordnung (AO), von 6 bzw. 10 Jahren eingehalten werden (zu finden unter Kapitel 3, Punkt 27 der GoBD-Richtlinien).

Diese vier Regeln müssen bei der digitalen Archivierung beachtetet werden, um als GoBD-konform zu gelten: Unveränderbarkeit, Vollständigkeit, Nachvollziehbarkeit und Verfügbarkeit.

2. Für wen gelten die GoBD?

Alle steuerpflichtigen Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer, die in irgendeiner From Gewinneinkünfte erzielen, sind gleichermaßen verpflichtet, die GoBD zu erfüllen.

Auf Basis der Abgabenordnung (§ 90 Absatz 3, Punkt 141 bis 144, AO ) und den Einzelsteuergesetzen (§ 22 UStG, § 4 Absatz 3 Satz 5, § 4 Absatz 4a Satz 6, § 4 Absatz 7 und § 41 EStG) verpflichten die GoBD neben buchführungspflichtigen Unternehmen und auch Selbständige, Freiberufler und Kleinunternehmer, die nicht buchführungspflichtig sind, alle steuerlich relevanten Daten gemäß der vorgegebenen Anforderungen aufzubewahren.

Wer über den gesamten Zeitraum der Aufbewahrungsfristen, die in den GoBD verankerten Anforderungen sicherstellen kann, handelt GoBD-konform.

3. Verstöße gegen die GoBD und Folgen bei Nichteinhaltung

Bei Nichteinhaltung der Grundsätze oder Verstößen der GoBD drohen je nach Ausmaß verschiedene Folgen. Fallen bei einer Betriebsprüfung Mängel bei der Einhaltung der GoBD auf und insbesondere so, dass sich daraus weitere Mängel ergeben, wie zum Beispiel, dass dadurch Beträge verfälscht oder verschleiert wurden, kann das steuerstrafrechtliche Folgen haben. Wie oben beschrieben, geht das Finanzamt bei einer Prüfung nach den Kriterien der GoBD vor und kann je nach Ausmaß beispielsweise Steuernachzahlungen oder Nachzahlungszinsen verlangen, Schätzungen machen oder auch Bußgelder veranlassen.

4. Welche Dokumente betrifft die GoBD?

Die GoBD betreffen alle steuerrelevanten Daten. Diese sind nach § 147 Abs. 1 AO folgende:
  • Bücher
  • Aufzeichnungen
  • Inventare
  • Jahresabschlüsse
  • Geschäfts- und Handelsbriefe

Wichtige Bereiche sind hier: Finanzbuchhaltung, Lohnbuchhaltung, Kostenrechnung, Bankkonten, Anlagenbuchhaltung.

Darüberhinaus sind weitere Dokumente aufbewahrungspflichtig und somit von der GoBD betroffen, sofern diese geschäftsrelevant sind. Dazu gehören auch E-Mails. E-Mails müssen archiviert werden und sind aufbewahrungspflichtig, sofern sich im Text der E-Mail relevante Informationen für beispielsweise eine Rechnung befinden. Die E-Mail muss nicht zusätzlich aufbewahrt werden, wenn sie nur als Übermittlungsmedium dient und keine relevanten Informationen enthält.

5. GoBD-konforme Buchhaltung mit Hilfe eines DMS

Die GoBD schreiben nicht vor, welches System zu verwenden ist. Die elektronische Archivierung ist in erster Linie technologieneutral. Jedoch empfiehlt es sich auf ein DMS zurückzugreifen, das im Sinne der GoBD-Richtlinien ausgelegt ist. So legen die GoBD fest: „Die Ablage von Daten und elektronischen Dokumenten in einem Dateisystem erfüllt die Anforderungen der Unveränderbarkeit regelmäßig nicht, soweit nicht zusätzliche Maßnahmen ergriffen werden, die eine Unveränderbarkeit gewährleisten“ (GoBD-Kapitel 8, Punkt 110).

Neben dem Kriterium der Unveränderbarkeit (GoBD-Kapitel 3.2.5), müssen die anderen Kriterien einer revisionssicheren Archivierung vorhanden sein: Nachvollziehbarkeit und Nachprüfbarkeit (GoBD-Kapitel 3.1), Vollständigkeit (GoBD-Kapitel 3.2.1), Richtigkeit (GoBD-Kapitel 3.2.2), Zeitgerechte Buchung und Aufzeichnungen (GoBD-Kapitel 3.2.3) und Ordnung (GoBD-Kapitel 3.2.4). Hierbei wirkt die revisionssichere Archivierung als Voraussetzung für eine GoBD-konforme Archivierung.

Dabei sorgt ein DMS nicht alleine für Revisionssicherheit oder die Einhaltung der GoBD, sondern kann nur als Hilfe bei der Umsetzung gesehen werden. Zudem unterscheiden sich die Leistungen der verschiedenen Systeme.

Tipp: Eine umfassende Auflistung der Anforderungen an ein DMS im Bezug zur GoBD-Konformität findet sich bei Bitkom in der „GoBD-Checkliste für Dokumentenmanagement-Systeme”.

6. Was muss ich bei der Einhaltung der GoBD noch beachten?

Neben den Anforderungen an das DMS, regeln die GoBD auch die Anforderungen an die Steuerpflichtigen, also die internen Erfassungs- und Verarbeitungsprozesse sowie das Verhalten der Anwender:innen.

Übergreifend ist das Unternehmen selbst dafür verantwortlich die GoBD einzuhalten. Dazu gehört folgendes:
  • Zunächst muss ein digitales System gewählt werden, welches die Kriterien der GoBD in Bezug zur digitalen Ablage erfüllt.
  • Belege müssen zeitgerecht erfasst werden (zum Beispiel via Scan oder Import) und in das System hochgeladen werden. Dabei kann dies manuell oder automatisiert erfolgen. Wichtig dabei ist, dass auch hier der zeitliche Verlauf nachvollziehbar ist. Bei einer zeitgerechten Erfassung spricht man von 8 bis 10 Tagen.
  • Ebenso muss eine Verfahrensdokumentation erstellt werden. In dieser Dokumentation müssen Informationen zum Verarbeitungsverfahren der Daten enthalten sein: „Die Verfahrensdokumentation besteht in der Regel aus einer allgemeinen Beschreibung, einer Anwenderdokumentation, einer technischen Systemdokumentation und einer Betriebsdokumentation” (GoBD-Kapitel 10.1, Punkt 153).
  • Darüber hinaus müssen im Team die Verantwortlichkeiten geklärt sein: wer macht die Freigabe? Wer überprüft die Daten?

Das System selbst ist für die Verfügbarkeit und Sichtbarkeit der nötigen Daten inklusive Historie verantwortlich sowie für eine revisionssichere Archivierung und eine automatische Bildung elektronischer Akten im Sinne einer ordentlichen Struktur und Zusammengehörigkeit.
GoBD-konforme Ablage mit Hilfe eines DMS

fileee BUSINESS erfüllt die Anforderungen der GoBD und unterstützt Dein Unternehmen bei der revisionssicheren Archivierung Deiner elektronischen Dokumente.

Noch Fragen?

GoBD – Häufige Fragen

Was bedeutet GoBD?
Die GoBD sind die „Grundsätze zur ordnungsmäßigen Führung und Aufbewahrung von Büchern, Aufzeichnungen und Unterlagen in elektronischer Form sowie zum Datenzugriff” und wurden am 28.11.2019 durch das Bundesministerium für Finanzen neu verfasst und festgelegt. In diesen Grundsätzen werden Vorgaben geregelt, die aus Sicht der Finanzverwaltung, an digital abgebildeten Prozessen zu stellen sind.
Was ist Revisionssicherheit?
„Revision” bedeutet „Abänderung”, „Korrektur” oder auch „Überarbeitung” und wird in Verbindung mit „Sicherheit”, also dem Schutz davor, so verstanden, dass in diesem Sinne etwas von einer Änderung geschützt ist. Im Zusammenhang mit Dokumenten wird dieser Begriff sowohl im technischen als auch organisatorischen Bereich im Kontext von der elektronischen Speicherung von Daten verwendet. Die GoBD regelt die Anforderungen an eine revisionssichere Ablage.
Was ist der Unterschied zwischen GoBD und Revisionssicherheit?
Die GoBD ist das Regelwerk mit den Anforderungen an eine revisionssichere Ablage bzw. wie Revisionssicherheit gegeben ist. Revisionssicherheit ist also ein Teil der GoBD und wer GoBD-konform agiert, handelt gleichzeitig revisionssicher. Die GoBD regelt darüber hinaus zum Beispiel die “Datensicherheit” unter dem Punkt 103 in Kapitel 7: „Der Steuerpflichtige hat sein DV-System (…)  gegen unberechtigte Eingaben und Veränderungen (z. B. durch Zugangs- und Zugriffskontrollen) zu schützen”. (aus: https://www.bundesfinanzministerium.de/Content/DE/Downloads/BMF_Schreiben/Weitere_Steuerthemen/Abgabenordnung/2019-11-28-GoBD.pdf?__blob=publicationFile&v=13)
Was bedeutet GoBD-Konformität?
Die Umsetzung der GoBD. Wer die in den GoBD verankerten Anforderungen sicherstellen kann, handelt GoBD-konform.
Wann ist ein DMS GoBD-konform?
Ein DMS ist dann GoBD-konform, wenn eine revisionssichere Ablage sichergestellt ist und die Anforderungen der GoBD vorhanden sind. Die GoBD-Checkliste von Bitkom schlüsselt diese nochmal direkt für Dokumentenmanagement-Systeme auf und erklärt die diversen Punkte im Zusammenhang mit der Umsetzung.

Rundum sicher und GoBD-konform mit fileee Business

Starte jetzt mit fileee Business
DSGVO Konform
Entwickelt und gehostet in Deutschland
Sicher SSL verschlüsselt
© 2022 fileee. All Rights Reserved.
DSGVO Konform
Entwickelt und gehostet in Deutschland
© 2022 fileee. All Rights Reserved.